Listen, you who doubted me.

I lived many years being told that I was “not the smartest sibling”, “not the skinniest girl”, “Not the prettiest”, “and not the normal one”. I was told since the time I was 18 years old that I was going to end up a  failure.

I am now much older than I was when I allowed you to walk all over me and belittle me like I was suppose to sit there like some child and allow you to scold me. I had to listen to someone who had no right to criticize my life choices when their own flesh and blood was in a much worse place.

Yet, I was the failure.

“You’re going to be a second year senior, I put money on it”

I proved you wrong.

“What’s the point in going to college, you’re just gonna fail anyways” “Why do you want to go to college so badly?”

My response?

“Because I don’t want to end up like your daughter”

Your daughter, the meth addicted 26 year old who had gotten pregnant and gave birth to two little boys who never asked to be brought into this world, to be neglected by their mother and abandoned by their father(s). To have their mother choose drugs over them and have them taken away by the government the day after Christmas. Your daughter who has no ambitions in life, whose teeth are rotting and falling out her head, who wears size 8 shorts when her waist is a size 12 , who chooses her boyfriend(s) over her children, and allows herself to continually get robbed by her “friends” whom you still allow to hang around her.

Yet, you still have the nerve to tell me that I’m the failure?

 

To you who doubted me,

I finally made it to my university after spending four long years at a community college, trying to get back on track. To achieve my long life goals of being able to rescue animals abroad and rehabilitate them.

I have three short years left until I get my bachelors in Wildlife Biology. I am going to graduate soon, and have an internship in S. Africa that I plan to attend to and possibly work for. I achieved my goal.

You use to be someone I loved to show everything I loved to, now all I want to do is rub my glory in your face. I would love to say that you helped fuel my ambition, but that would give you the satisfaction that you don’t deserve.

I hope one day you realize how much of a cunt you were.

I hope one day you realize that I was never the failure.

I hope one day you realize that your pride and envy clouded your eyes.

I hope one day you realize that the only failure here, was you and your daughter.

I hope one day you realize that I will never forgive you for the tears, anger, sleepless nights, and lack of appetite you caused.

And I hope one day you realize when you seek forgiveness, that I will never extend my hand to help you.

 

To you who doubted me,

Don’t ever doubt what I can do. I will continue to prove you wrong; time after time.

 

~Andy